“Come And See”

Pat Hartling was baptized and confirmed yesterday!  It was a wonderful occasion.  Pat’s nephew, Mike, performed the ordinance, and then Pat’s brother Sean (Mike’s dad) did the confirmation.  Pat is planning on going to the temple on Wednesday with his family to perform baptisms for the dead together.  They are all solid.  Elder Silva and I feel very blessed to have been apart of his conversion experience this transfer.  To think!  It all started with us going to that 100th anniversary dinner at the Catholic church.

We just got our transfer emails today.  Elder Silva and I are splitting for sure.  He is going to a new district in Springs and I am for sure training a new missionary.  President Anderson called and gave me some details yesterday so I already knew it was coming.  I am really excited.  The new missionary training curriculum we have is incredible.  Instead of focusing on doctrine, it is centered on becoming a master teacher.  The goal is that at the end of the 12 weeks together, the new missionary (not “greenie”) is ready to turn around and train another new missionary.  I will get more in depth into the subject in future emails.

I’m uploading a few more pictures on to mediafire.com from Elder Silva’s camera.  I didn’t have time to write a commentary, so if you have questions you will just have to write them to me.  Speaking of cameras… I finally got that package you sent on Tuesday!  It arrived on Saturday but since I wasn’t home to sign for it I had to wait until I could get to the post office and pick it up in person.  Thank you for all the thoughtful gifts.  The new camera is amazing!  I am still trying to figure out what the JPS is for, but I am planning on reading up on it all today!  Corbin!  Thank you for the card, note and awesome Dragon drawing!  Adeline- thank you for the lovely bird!  You are so creative.  Thank you also for sending along the Prince of Egypt soundtrack.

So I am really going to focus this transfer on becoming a more Christ like teacher.  I have been frustrated lately trying to talk to people on their doorsteps about the Restoration of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  This sounds harsh but people can be so smart and yet so STUPID!!!  I really wish people would give us more of the benefit of the doubt like we try and give to them and just LISTEN with their HEARTS!  Sorry.  I really needed to vent that frustration.  Alright anyways- this transfer I am going to just focus on love, commitments, and invitations when I talk to people.  I really love the “come and see” approach that the Saviour and his disciples use in the new testament that Elder Talmage points out in “Jesus the Christ”.  That is the kind of missionary I want to be.

Well, it is time for me to bounce.  Love you,

         Elder Emmett Florence

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

