1/10/11-Transfer Day!

It is transfer day!

We have been waiting in anxious anticipation for a few days now to have the rumors and speculation cleared up and now today is finally here!  I just got word that I’m being transferred to the……

Parker Rock Zone, Park Meadows district

I’m not sure what city that is in yet, but from what I’ve heard from my MTC companion Elder Appel who has served there, Parker is richer and and harder to baptise in, but still an awesome area where the church is growing steadily and increasingly.  I’m really excited for it!  Elder Decoria and I are going our separate ways.  He is finally leaving Pueblo after 9 months and going to the North East Zone to serve as a district leader there.  My companion will be an Elder Palmer, other then the name I have no idea who he is or what he will be like.  I’m going to miss Peublo alot.  Despite high crime rates (By the way there was a shooting just a few blocks from our apartment up on the west side the other night.  A friend of one of our investigators was killed.  Are you glad I’m leaving the area Mom?)

[INSERT FROM MOM-YES! I was already hip that Pueblo boasted a higher than the National average homicide rate and has a large population of street gangs-thanks to Wikipedia]

I really love the ward here and our converts and investigators.  Elder DeCoria and I got to baptize again last weekend.  He is super solid despite j-dub family who was opposed to him being baptized.  He is set to serve a mission in just a couple of years.  He was a member referral and has really strong fellowship with lots of members who are going to make sure he sticks in the church.  Huge blessing.  We are also leaving the Deel family behind, who are still going strong.  We have a ton of investigators who are on track to be baptized next transfer.  I feel good about helping build this area and leaving it better then we found it.

We went and taught Starlight and Ricardo again with our WML on Sunday.  They love the Book of Mormon and the things they are learning and are still considering baptism.  Hopefully the next Elders who come to our area take good care of them.

All the snow from before had melted away, but we got a fresh three inches yesterday after church! Saying goodbye to people really is terrible.  I wish we could throw a big party and hug each other and sing and dance, but all we can do is shake hands like we always do, smile, and walk away.  “God be with you til we meet again” takes on a whole new meaning now.

I must away and pack!  Love,

Elder Emmett Florence

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

