12/20/10 Christmas for Cowboys

Merry Christmas!

Thank you for the Peppermint Jo-Jos, Organic Cheese Puffs, Ginger Bread Cookies, Four peanut-butter M&Ms, Three Dark Chocolate Bars, Two Reeses Trees and the Christmas Tree w/ ornaments and partridge.  I’ve also enjoyed the CDs alot, especially the Christmas stuff.  “On the Floor” is surprisingly appropriate, I don’t think I’ll be able to listen to it very often though.  The music we listen to should help us forget what we need to forget and as giddy as I am to hear the sound of Brandon Flower’s voice again singing a song about praying, it is to heavily connected with Emmett Florence before and after his mission.  JONATHAN!  You’re responsible for track 6 I suspect!  It is actually pretty good.  (OWL CITY) (My companion likes to hi-jack the CD player and listen to it over and over again)  We soooo need to baptize Adam Young!  Let me just take this moment to publicly confess (Nate, Jonathan, and all other interested parties) that Adam Young has won me over and when I get home I will listen to and enjoy “Owl City”.

Update on Starlight and Ricardo: Not good.  We haven’t found Starlight’s baptismal record yet and now Ricardo doesn’t want to be baptised anymore.  They don’t want to listen or change anymore.  Oh well.  People have agency.

On the bright side Elder DeCoria and I found 14 new investigators this week, many of whom have baptismal dates for January.  One of them we found when we decided to save time by only knocking three doors that we felt impressed to knock on a street.  The first two were bad, but behind door number three we found a big family and got a return appointment to go teach them.

We had a big Hispanic family (English speaking Hispanic family.  No habla espanol) that was supposed to be baptised together the 26th, but somebody pulled an intentional hit-and-run number on the Mother of the family and shattered her knee (in their driveway in front of her kids) so she is in the hospital now and the kids are staying with other relatives in the area.  We’ve been visiting her in the hospital.  She has been in a lot of pain, but she is on the mend now.  She has been so brave and strong through all of it for her kids.  She is really amazing.

Aurora, yes I got you letters.  Thank you!  I will write you back soon.

I got your third package this week as well as the Christmas Letter you wrote at Zone Conference today.  Thank you so much!I have to get back to work now but I will talk to you sometime Christmas between 1-5pm (sorry I can’t be more specific than that).

I love you all!

Elder Emmett Florence

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

